Runoffs Report: Wednesday Evening

Racing Rep Makes Run at GT-2 National Championship

As one of the founders of Synergy Racing, Danny Marshall, of Danville, Virginia, has raced in the Rolex series for years, competing 12 times in the Rolex 24 at Daytona. But in his daily life, Marshall is a Representative in the Virginia House of Delegates.


“When we were racing professionally, I would sit on the house floor with my laptop while all the guys were at Daytona, and I was checking lap times,” he joked. “But I was elected to serve so I was not going to leave early. I’d get on a plane and fly from Richmond to Daytona and get in the car.”


Synergy’s garages are located on-site at VIR, and Marshall has a special connection to the track. “I came to the first race here in 1957 with my father, when Carroll Shelby won,” he recalls. “And I came to the first IMSA race here when Hurley Haywood and Peter Gregg won.”


Marshall’s pro racing resumé is extensive, but until this year, he had never taken part in SCCA Road Racing.


“When I saw that the Runoffs would be here, I figured it was a bucket list thing to do,” he says. “I went through the whole process to get qualified and it was really easy. It’s been an enjoyable experience.”


SportsCar Magazine Looks at Who Might Win

Each year, SportsCar Magazine takes a shot at guessing who will triumph at the Runoffs. This year’s predictions are out and can be reviewed through the links below:

Who Will Win: Part 1;   Who Will Win: Part 2;   Who Will Win: Part 3

Who Will Win: Part 4;   Who Will Win: Part 5;   Who Will Win: Part 6

Who Will Win: Part 7;   Who Will Win: Part 8;   Who Will Win: Part 9


Before you Win, You Must Qualify

The second of three qualifying days has concluded at the 56th annual Sports Car Club of America® National Championship Runoffs® at VIRginia International Raceway. Leaders so far after two days of qualifying are below with Class: Name, Hometown, SCCA Region, Car and Time. (Full qualifying results found at
-American Sedan®: Daniel Richardson; Derwood, MD; Washington DC Region; Chevrolet Camaro; 2:03.106

-B-Spec: Alex Ratcliffe; Leesburg, VA; Washington DC Region; Mini Cooper; 2:23.150

-E Production: Jesse Prather; Topeka, KS; Kansas Region; BMW Z3; 2:00.987

-F Production: Eric Prill; Topeka, KS; Kansas Region; Mazda Miata; 2:07.436

-H Production: Vesa Silegren; Chattanooga, TN; Chattanooga Region; Honda CRX; 2:16.021

-Formula 500: Wiley Mcmahan; Covington, GA; Middle Georgia Region; Scorpion FDS 007 Suzuki; 1:57.361

-Formula Atlantic®: Dario Cangialosi; Chester, NJ; Northern New Jersey Region; Swift 016a Mazda; 1:41.545

-Formula Continental®: Robert Allaer; Grosse Pointe Woods, MI; Central Florida Region; Van Diemen RF01; 1:51.200

-Formula Enterprises: Mark Snyder; Southlake, TX; Texas Region; SCCA FE Mazda; 1:55.760

-Formula Enterprises 2: Liam Snyder; Southlake, TX; Texas Region; SCCA FE2 Mazda; 1:51.576

-Formula F: Tyler O'Connor; New Hartford, CT; New England Region; Mygale SJ14; 2:00.327

-Formula Vee®: Andrew Whitston; Neenah, WI; Milwaukee Region; Protoform P2; 2:15.712

-Formula Mazda: Anthony Seaber; Hillsborough, NC; North Carolina Region; Star Formula Mazda; 1:55.636

-GT-1: Tony Ave; Maiden, NC; Central Carolinas Region; Chevrolet Corvette; 1:43.857

-GT-2: Andrew Aquilante; Chester Springs, PA; Philadelphia Region; Chevrolet Corvette; 1:51.051

-GT-3: Michael Lewis; Poway, CA; San Diego Region; Mazda RX-7; 1:58.194

-GT-Lite: Peter Shadowen; West Palm Beach, FL; Florida Region; Honda CRX; 2:06.997

-Prototype 1: Todd Slusher; Las Vegas, NV; Atlanta Region; Elan DP02 Mazda; 1:43.005

-Prototype 2: Robert Iversen; Gulf Breeze, FL; Gulf Coast Region; Ligier JS 49 Honda; 1:49.521

-Spec Miata: Todd Buras; Melbourne, FL; Florida Region; Mazda Miata; 2:14.552

-Spec Racer Ford 3: Charles Russell Turner; Montpelier, VA; Washington DC Region; SCCA Enterprises SRF3; 2:04.956

-Super Touring® Lite: Danny Steyn; Fort Lauderdale, FL; Florida Region; Mazda MX-5; 2:07.203

-Super Touring® Under: Kevin Boehm; Marysville, OH; Ohio Valley Region; Honda Civic; 2:00.967

-Touring 1: Andrew Aquilante; Chester Springs, PA; Philadelphia Region; Ford Mustang; 1:54.771

-Touring 2: Cooper MacNeil; Hinsdale, IL; Chicago Region; Porsche 911 Carrera S; 1:58.994

-Touring 3: Marshall Mast; Narvon, PA; Philadelphia Region; Ford Mustang GT; 2:04.918

-Touring 4: John Heinricy; Clarkston, MI; Detroit Region; Toyota 86; 2:11.257


Qualifying Continues Thursday
The third and final day of SCCA National Championship Runoffs qualifying begins at 8 a.m. Eastern Time on Thursday. Audio-only coverage will be available at with commentary supplied by Runoffs pit reporter Heyward Wagner, as well as Gregg Ginsberg (Super Tour Radio), Andy Hollis and Larry MacLeod. Audio commentary of the three race days will be supplied by the Super Tour Radio presented by Hoosier Racing Tire broadcast team consisting of Mike Wolfe, Bob Steele, Andy Delay, Brian Donati and Ginsberg. Live, online video coverage of Runoffs races, presented by Mazda, will occur Friday, Oct. 11 through Sunday, Oct. 13 at with Greg Creamer again anchoring the broadcast joined by Ryan Myrehn (SportsCar365 writer), Tom O’Gorman (pro driver), Hollis and MacLeod while Wagner provides coverage from pit lane. Be sure to tune in so as not to miss any of the action!


Photo: Danny Marshall, of Danville, Virginia, on track at his first Runoffs

Photo Credit: Mark Weber